Wednesday, April 13, 2011

May 1-31st Sublet $463+utilities

Francis is a friend of Monica G's. Francis is also a friend of Cousin Betty, who I visited shortly after dropping out of high school when I was 16. Betty and I had been kids together in Brooklyn, and we had gone on AlphaQuests (inspired by Sesame Street) and found dead animals in alleyways and generally had adventures. When I was sixteen and I visited her family's house, we got to be friends again -- and when I ended up speaking at her college (where she met Francis), Betty came to the workshop and helped out with part of the menstrual cramp talk. Ah, memories.
Sublet a beautiful room in a 4-bedroom apartment in Ditmas/Flatbush/Kensington Brooklyn. The room will be available May 1-31st. The room is furnished with a super comfortable double bed, dresser, closet, and writing desk. The month costs $463+utilities (roughly $30-40 for internet + electricity). The apartment has a big bright living room and nice kitchen. There is backyard and roof access. ...The Q train is a few minute walk, and the F/G is 10-15 min. Prospect Park is 4 blocks away!

About the household: 4 queer folks in their
mid-twenties living semi-communally--shared groceries, chores, household expenses, and occasional shared meals. No one is a vegetarian, but we do mostly end up eating like we are. No pets. The 3 roommates staying in May all have pretty busy schedules and aren't around much until the evening. Evenings tend to be low-key: listening to music/beer drinking/chatting. I (the roommate who will be away) will be gone for a month-long artist residency, so sorry no option to extend the sublet. This would be a great jumping off place for anyone looking to move to NYC. Having lived in Philly, I can say this house feels really like a West Philly sort of household in the midst of New York bustle.

We're interested in having a queer person and/or POC, but top priority is to find someone respectful, with their heart and politics in the right place. If you're interested in the room, please send an email about yourself and what you're looking for and any experience you've had living communally.
Pictures and more info available by request. Contact: Francis at francisrabkin[at]gmail[dot]com.

No comments:

Post a Comment