Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Large Room available June 1st in sunny, spacious, Temescal apartment

I used to live with Chris, a long long time ago. Now he lives in Oakland, CA and needs a new housemate:
The Room: Large bedroom (13 x 11) available June First with beautiful built-in drawers, mirrors, cove ceilings, and lots of windows. $560 plus additional monthly utilities of $40-$70

The Three of Us: We are two men and a woman in our late 20’s and early 30’s. We are politically and socially progressive and/or radical, queer friendly, creative, quiet, busy, health conscious, responsible, caring, strong communicators. One of us primarily works from home on G.I.S and map designs and plays the vibraphone. One is just starting out in a law career and is a generous & easy going vegetarian. Another is graduating in May with a geography degree and working in landscape gardening. No smoking indoors and no pets currently. We don't have a TV in the common space (by choice.)

You: Hopefully, you have lived in a shared home before and enjoy doing so! We live independent lives, but we also enjoy spending time together. We have a regular chore schedule and would love to find someone who keeps a clean house and routinely does his/her weekly chore. Our ideal housemate is responsible, ideally in their late 20’s/early 30’s, preferably female for gender balance, queer friendly, a strong communicator, and all around awesome.

Our House: Four bedroom/one bath apartment. We live on the top floor of a two-story 1912 duplex with hardwood floors and a lot of natural light in the Oakland Temescal neighborhood. Each housemate has their own bedroom and the shared living areas are:

* a tile-floored kitchen with a gas stove,
* a sunroom/guest room,
* big living room with a couch and comfy chair,
* a storage alcove for bikes,
* large foyer,
* washer & dryer,
* several potted plants, and
* a back patio (which we share with the landlady, her husband, and elementary school aged daughter who all live downstairs).

Our Neighborhood: We're located on 41st St. (between Telegraph & Webster). We're close to MacArthur BART and several AC Transit lines (1, 1R, 18, 51 and others). It's a 20 minute bike ride to downtown Berkeley and 15 to downtown Oakland. Easy access to freeways (580, 980, 24). Street parking only, but they only sweep once a month. The Temescal neighborhood of North Oakland is a welcoming community, and our house is a short walk to shopping and restaurants on Telegraph (lots of great Ethiopian/Eritrean and Korean places, Lanesplitters Pizza, Bakesale Betty's, and Piedmont Avenue (fish tacos, sushi, ice cream, bubble tea, and the Piedmont Theater). The Temescal Farmers Market is every Sunday. Mosswood Park is close by, we have a community pool, and Flying Yoga is blocks away.

As of 6/14/2011 they have found someone, thanks for the fan mail!

No comments:

Post a Comment